Our Team

Arizona PHTC

Douglas Taren, PhD
Project Director
Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
University of Arizona
taren@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-626-8375

Lubna Govindarajan, MPH
Program Coordinator, Senior
Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
lshaikh@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-626-1086

Myra Muramoto, MD, MPH
Co-Investigator
University of Arizona College of Medicine
myram@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-626-1090

Daniel Derksen, MD 
Rural Health Liaison 
Center for Rural Health
Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
dderksen@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-626-3085

Raymond Andrade, M.Ed.
Instruction Designer
Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
raymondandrade@email.arizona.edu
Office: 520-626-5017
Cell: 520-271-1852

Erich Healy, BA
Online Designer
Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
erichh@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-626-2450

Allison Root, MS, RD
Instructional Specialist, Senior
Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
allisonr1@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-621-1393

Abigail Stoica, MPH
Instructional Specialist, Senior
Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
stoica@email.arizona.edu

James Cunningham, PhD
Evaluator
Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
jkcunnin@email.arizona.edu

Paul Akmajian
Graphics Designer/Outreach Coordinator
Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
pakmajian@email.arizona.edu
Phone: 520-626-5837

California PHTC

John Blossom, MD
Program Director
California Statewide AHEC Program
jblossom@fresno.ucsf.edu
Phone: 559-241-7650

Brenda Mitchell
Program Manager
California Statewide AHEC Program
bmitchell@fresno.ucsf.edu
Phone: 559-241-7650

Nevada PHTC

Trudy Larson, MD
Professor and Director
School of Community Health Sciences
University of Nevada, Reno
tlarson@medicine.nevada.edu
Phone: 775-784-4041

Gerald Ackerman
Director
Northeastern AHEC Program
gackerman@medicine.nevada.edu
Phone: 775-738-3828

Gerold Dermid-Gray
Community Relations and Field Studies Coordinator
University of Nevada, Reno
gdermid@unr.edu
Phone: 775-682-7096

US Associated Pacific Islands PHTC

Greg Dever, MD
Regional Human Resources for Health Coordinator
Pacific Island Health Officers Association
gregd@pihoa.org
Phone: 680-488-4900

Emi Chutaro
Executive Director
Pacific Island Health Officers Association (PIHOA)
emic@pihoa.org

Brian Mangum
​Consultant Epidimiologist, FRSPH
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology & Biostatistics
​Fiji National University
brian.mangum@fnu.ac.fj

Hawai’i PHTC

Valerie Yontz, RN-BC, MS, MPH, PhD
Specialist & Practice Coordinator
Hawai’i PI - WRPHTC 
University of Hawaii Manoa
vyontz@hawaii.edu
Phone: 808-956-5771

Camille Cristobal, BSW
Graduate Research Assistant and MSW Student
University of Hawai'i Manoa-Office of Public Health Studies
Registrar and Logistics Coordinator
Hawai'i Public Health Training Hui
cuc@hawaii.edu
Phone: 808-627-5246